FACRL Committees

Below is a list of FACRL standing and conference committees, including their charge
and current membership. 
If you are interested in joining a committee, please contact us today! 

Legislative Representative

Charge: The ACRL Legislative Network Representative is responsible for disseminating to the Chapter information about legislation impacting academic and research libraries and promoting the ACRL legislative agenda.

Board Liaison: Steven Wade

Membership Committee

Charge: The Committee administers the FACRL membership lists including the annual request of an updated membership roster from ACRL. The committee identifies and plans membership recruitment opportunities and updates promotional membership materials.  

Co-Chairs: Douglas Hasty (2021-2023) and Brie O'Keefe (2022 - 2024)

Board Liaison: Nancy Schuler

Committee Members:

Marketing & Communications Committee

Charge: The Committee fosters communication and dialogue among members pertaining to the issues and trends in academic librarianship, markets FACRL programming, and promotes the benefits of Association membership.

Chair: Karen Bronshteyn (2022 -2024)

Board Liaison: Nancy Schuler
Committee Members:

Nominating Committee

Charge: The Committee administers the annual FACRL election cycle including candidate identification and recruitment, promotion of the election cycle, certification of election results, and candidate notification. 
Chair: Elana Karshmer, Past-President
Committee Members:

    Programming Committee

    Charge: The FACRL Programming Committee plans, coordinates, markets, and delivers programming, except for the FACRL Annual Conference, which is managed by the Conference Committee. (Charge is pending board approval)

    Chair: Cameron Riopelle
    Board Liaison: Elana Karshmer 
    Committee Members: 

    2021 Annual Conference Committees

    Conference Program Committee

    Charge: The FACRL Conference Program Committee plans, coordinates, markets, and delivers a program for the FACRL Annual Conference.
    Co-Chairs: Ana Diamand (2021-2023) and Rachel Edford (2021-2023)
    Board Liaison: John Reynolds
    Ex-Officio: Rachel Cooke, FACRL President 
    Committee Members:

    Sponsorship Committee

    Charge: The FACRL Sponsorship Committee solicits vendor sponsorships for the FACRL Annual Conference. The Committee serves as a liaison between FACRL and corporate sponsors, ensures sponsor recognition, facilitates attendee interaction with corporate sponsors and ensures acknowledgment of donations received.
    Chair/Board Liaison: Valerie Boulos
    Committee Members:

    Scholarship Committee

    Charge: The Committee administers the annual FACRL student scholarship application and award cycle including award promotion, application submission, receipt and evaluation, applicant notification and award distribution.  The Committee Chair also coordinates assigning each scholarship winner with a conference mentor from the FACRL Board who serves as a liaison between scholarship winners and the Board.
    Chair: Ava Brillat
    Board Liaison: Julie Hornick
    Committee Members:

    Virtual Conference Logistics Committee

    Charge: The Committee coordinates the logistics for the FACRL Virtual Annual Conference including management and trouble shooting of the virtual conference platform. Assist with the planning and organization of networking or social opportunities at the virtual conference. (Charge is pending Board approval) 
    Chair: Sandy Avila
    Board Liaison: Cindy Gruwell 
    Committee Members:

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software